

Thermochimica Acta 396 (2003) ix

thermochimica acta

www.elsevier.com/locate/tca

Preface

The Wunderlich Symposium and the NATAS 2001 Conference

Another successful annual meeting was held in St. Louis, MO as NATAS held its 29th Conference, September 24–26, 2001. One hundred and forty-nine papers were orally presented and 39 posters were reviewed as part of the conference technical program. The polymer presentations recognizing Professor Bernie Wunderlich are the focus of this volume. Other peer reviewed papers will appear in forthcoming issues.

The excellent technical program began with the Mettler-Toledo/NATAS 2001 award and presentation by Gregory B. McKenna (TX). Ms Queenie Kwok, (Canada) was the Perkin-Elmer Outstanding Student Award for 2001. Plenary talks were given by Richard Vaia (OH), Michael Pikal (CT), Bruce Prime (CA), Duncan Price (UK) and Christopher Schick (Germany).

The Solid State of Macromolecules, a symposium in honor of Professor Bernhard Wunderlich was held on the occasion of his 70th birthday during the conference. Thirty papers were presented to honor Dr. Wunderlich. Dr. Michael Jaffee and Dr. R. Bruce Prime chaired this special symposium.

Other technical presentations covered areas of thermal analysis and rheology of polymers, pharmaceuticals, hazard evaluation, energetic materials, MTDSC thermal methods, organics, inorganics and geology, polymer degradation, biological applications in TA, nanotechnology and industrial applications of TA. The short courses were attended by 36 technical people from academia and industry.

The highlight of the social events was the award banquet where several thermal analysts were honored for significant contributions to science and NATAS. Mike Neag received the outstanding service award.

There were many volunteers who made the 29th NATAS Conference a success and a contribution to the international science community. The following are acknowledged and thanked for their leadership roles: NATAS President, Wei Ping Pan; Vice-President, Larry Judovits; Secretary, Bob Howell; Treasurer, Bob Miller; and Meetings Councilor, Roger Blaine; as well as past Presidents, Don Burlett, Stewart Hunt, Marilyn Hach, Tina Starness and Alan T. Riga. The conference committee consisted of Chair, David Jones; Vice-Chair, Wei Xie; Program Chair, Poonam Aggarwal; and Conference Proceedings, Keith Kociba. NATAS session chairs include Linda Tuma, David Jones, Paul Cornillon, Mike Reading, Fred Mazzeo, Tom Ramotowski, Carolyn O'Connell, M. Shabangi, Richard Vaia and Indira Adihetty.

Our thanks are given to the dedicated authors and the many reviewers who made this special Wunderlich issue of the 29th NATAS Conference possible.

Special co-editors are Bruce Prime (CA), and Michael Jaffee (NJ).

Alan T. Riga
TechCon Inc.
6325 Aldenham Drive
Cleveland, OH 44143-331, USA
E-mail addresses: riga@techcon.org
a.riga@csuohio.edu